Lockmagic GMail Chrome Extension

How it works?

Lockmagic is an identity-based encryption solution providing a seamless, end-to-end, password-free user experience. Use the 'Secure Send' button inside Gmail or G-Suite to compose a secure message just like a regular message. The message body and attachments are encrypted locally inside the web browser using AES-256. Only the recipients of the email messages are authorized to decrypt and view its content.

Recipients use their email addresses to sign in to Lockmagic in order to decrypt and view the message content. This makes it very easy to share encrypted content without any risk of forgetting passwords. Each recipient must sign in to Lockmagic using the same identity granted by the sender. Recipients can sign in to Lockmagic by registering their work or personal email address, or use Google or Microsoft authentication without registeration. Only after the recipient identity has been verified and authorized to access the secure content, is the secure content decrypted and displayed.

Local Encryption

Your message is always decrypted locally before being submitted to Gmail. The secure message is always stored encrypted in GMail.

Recipients are not required to install any software to sign in and decrypt the message. The secure message is decrypted locally, inside the web browser, to view the email body and attachments. The secure message is always stored encrypted in the recipient email system.

Install Now

  



  


Select a topic



Send Secure Message

Use the 'Secure Send' button or the encrypt button on the compose window toolbar. You will notice the compose window title bar color changes to 'Red'. This indicates the message is will be encrypted before it is sent. You will also notice the button is added to the toolbar to add secure attachments.

Local Attachment

You must use the secure file attachment button to secure file attachments. This ensure your attachments are added to the secure message. The default gmail attach button uploads attachment unencrypted and must not be used.
Drag and Drop
Do not use drag and drop when compose secure messages. In order to ensure your attachments are securely sent, always use the Lockmagic attach button.

GDrive Attachment

You can use the regular GDrive button to attach files and document from Drive. By default, files added from GDrive will be downloaded and added to the secure message before it's encrypted and sent. Google Documents are converted to PDF files before attached to the secure message.

If you wish to share a link to the Drive document instead of attaching a copy, uncheck the 'Download Drive files ...' box under the options menu. Click on the encrypt button to display the options menu.

Self Destruction Expiry

Lockmagic provides the ability to expire secure messages after a specified period of time to achieve a self destruction effect. Only the sender can open the secure message once it expires. Click on the secure button to display the options menu. Select the desired expiry period from the available values. Use the Lockmagic button on the toolbar to set the message expiry time.

Message Format

Lockmagic sends the secure message as an attachment in a regular clear message. This attachment can be either a binary WEF file or a web HTML file.

Web HTML files are intended for users to access encrypted content without installing any software. The Lockmagic client is embedded within the web file and recipients are not required to have Lockmagic installed. This is useful in case the recipient is using a device that unable to install any software.


Set Access Policy

After a message is marked encrypted, press the Lockmagic button on the toolbar to customize the message policies. You can set an expiry time, protect against copy/paste and set an additional or alternate notification email address.

Expiry  

Lockmagic provides the ability to expire secure messages after a specified period of time to achieve a self destruction effect. Only the sender can open the secure message once it expires. Click on the secure button to display the options menu. Select the desired expiry period from the available values.

Copy Protect  

You can restrict the set of recipients that can copy/paste, print and save the message body and attachments. This is supported for PDF, Microsoft Word and image files. A watermark is displayed on the document with the recipient email address and a 'Do not copy' message. This is meant to prevent unintentional user actions and doesn't protect from intentional malicious actors that want to disable the protection and copy the content. It also doesn't protect against photography and screen snipping.

Open Secure Message

Lockmagic stores secure messages as attachments of regular template messages. In this manner, secure messages are processed and delivered to any email systems. The recipient opens the attachment to decrypt and view the secure message content.

To open the secure message, hover the mouse on top of the attachment and select the open icon as show on the image. You may be asked to 'allow popup window' to sign in to Lockmagic, select 'Sign in with Google'. Once you sign in, the message will be opened and shown instead of the template message directly inside the gmail browser window.

Reply

You can reply as normal and your reply will be automatically encrypted before it is sent.

In order to include attachments to the encrypted message you must use the Lockmagic attachment icon instead of the regular attach button.


Sign In

You will be prompted to sign in only when needed during accessing secure content or viewing activity log. Enter your Lockmagic username and password or select 'Sign in using Google' to sign in with your gmail account.


Unsend or Recall Secure Message

Follow these steps to 'Unsend' or 'Recall' a secure message preventing anyone from accessing it.


Block All Access

Follow these steps to prevent specific people from accessing all of your secure content.


Audit Log

Lockmagic logs event access attempt on a secure message. As an author, you can view per message access log by following these steps:

Lockmagic maintains an activity log for every user. Every access attempt by anyone to access secure content is logged under the owner activity log. The full activity log can be viewed at any time or on a dashboard with timeline and world map.


Request Secure Reply

Lockmagic enables users to request secure email messages from other people who may not have used Lockmagic before. Read the feature full details.

To request a secure reply, follow these instructions:

Alerts

Lockmagic sends an email notification to the author on any 'unauthorized', 'expired' or 'blocked' access to secure content. When requested, success access also generates notifications.

The notification email contains details of the access including information about the content and person attempted the access. You will find status, email address, time and IP address. Use the map icon to view it in a map.

If the author installed Lockmagic Mobile App, a push notification is also sent to the author mobile device. Alternatively, the author may have registered for Lockmagic notifications on Slack. Slack notifications can be enabled at any time.

Mobile Apps

Install Lockmagic for Windows or Android or IOS