Instructions

Topics


How it works?

Lockmagic doesn't use passwords to encrypt content but instead users specify a set of recipient identities to authorize. A user identity can be a name, email address or phone number that both sender and receipient agree to. In general, users will use their email address or mobile phone number since this information is already known and shared with others.

When encrypting content, the user specifies the other people idenities (email address or mobile #) and share the secure encrypted content via email, whatsapp or any other method.

The recipient opens the secure content with Lockmagic and is prompted to login to their Lockmagic account. The recipient must sign in using the same identity authorized by the sender. After successful login, the secure content will be decrypted and displayed provided the user.

The sender will be immediately notified by Lockmagic via push notification on mobile device or on email.


Create an account

Lockmagic supports email addresses, phone numbers or any other string as a username.

If the user specifies an email address, Lockmagic will first verify it by sending a verification link in an email message. The user must open the email message and confirm the link within 5 minutes to complete the registeration process.

If a non-email address is specified, then account is ready to use and no confirmation process is required.

Registering wih an email is the prefer method and strongly encouraged to start with.

You can register both an email address and phone number.


Log in

You will be prompted to sign in when opening the app, accessing secure content or viewing the activity log. Enter your Lockmagic username and password.
If you forgot your password, use the password reset icon on the password text field. You can also use the Security option on the main screen and locate the Reset Password option.


Encryption Settings

Lockmagic supports groups, expiration and zero install

Groups

Create in the device contacts a regular contact to represent a group. Add all the emails of its members to the contact email property. Use the 'group add icon' to display the list of groups from your device contacts. This will show all contacts with more than a single email address. Each member will also be displayed in the add user as well using the group name if you wish to only add a single member defined in a group. Select the group and its members will be added to the authorized list of users.

Expiry

Use the 'calendar icon' to set an expiry time on the encrypted content. This enables you to control how long the shared content is valid for. After the specified expiry date the secure content can not be decrypted.

Zero Install

Lockmagic supports two file formats - binary WEF and Web HTML. Web HTML files are intended to enable users to access encrypted content without installing any software. The Lockmagic client is embedded within the web page and users are not required to have Lockmagic installed. This is useful in case the recipient is unable to install any software. Use the 'html icon' to select HTML format when encrypting content.


Secure Email

Fill out the compose message form just like any regular email form. Add contacts using the 'user' and 'group' icons or type in the To line. You can set an expiry time for the message by using the 'calendar icon'. Press send button on the top right hand corner. When any recipient accesses the message you will be notified.

Lockmagic sends your secure message as an attachment of a regular template email message. The recipient will open the attachment to view your message.


Secure Files & Media

Select file or any of the media type buttons to securely share or save encrypted content. After selecting the content file, a simple form will be displayed as shown in the image on the left.

First, enter the other people Lockmagic username, email address or phone number, on the text box or select from device contacts using email or phone buttons. You can also add multiple emails by using the groups button.

Optionally, you specify a date to expiry access to the secure content by using the calendar button.

You can also specify the format of the encrypted file - binary format or web html format. You should use web html format if you plan to share content with other people that don't have Lockmagic installed such as IOS devices.

Finally, select an action at the bottom of the form to email, share or save the secure content.

Use the Save option to store a secure copy on your local device.


Open & Decrypt

To open secure content, click on the attachment. Use the "Share" icon and select Lockmagic. A logon dialog will be displayed, enter your Lockmagic credentials and the secure content will be decrypted if you are authorized.

Accessing secure files inside some Apps like Whatsapp might say "not supported". In this case, do a long press on the file to select it and use the 'Share' or 'Send' or 'Open With' option in the app. Select Lockmagic from the list of possible apps. Lockmagic will detect that the content is secure and will start the decryption process.

If the content is not encrypted, Lockmagic will start the encryption process. In this manner you can share encrypted content with Lockmagic directly from inside other apps.


ICloud, WhatsApp, GDrive & Other Apps

Lockmagic encrypted content can be shared via other apps. Select the document or image you wish to share and select Lockmagic. This will start the encryption process and the access policy form will be displayed. Enter the people identities you wish to share the content with and select the share option at the bottom of the screen. You will be shown a list of available apps that you can use to send the encrypted content.

When sharing encrypted content with people that can't install Lockmagic, select the HTML option before pressing 'Share'.


Activities

Any access to secure content you authorized is audited and logged. You can view it from the Activities tab. Each access will contain information about the content and person attempted to access it. You will find status, email address, time and IP address. Use the map icon to view it in a world map.


Security

Under the security tab you can configure the logout of your Lockmagic identity, change your Lockmagic password or reset your password.


Unsend, Block or Recall

You have the ability to block access of encrypted content you own at any time. You can block access for a given person or identity for all encrypted content you created, or you can block access to a specific encrypted email or file.

Block a person for all content

Open the Lockmagic manage contacts page and enter the person identity you wish to block to your Lockmagic contacts. Select 'Deny' on the Access dropdown menu. Press Update.

Block access to a specific content

Open the content you wish to block under 'Sent' folder for emails or under the shared folders or apps. Decrypt the content and use the block button. The button will switch to an open image to allow you to restore access if you desire at a later time.

Lockmagic will send you an alert via push notifications and email whenever your blocked content is accessed by others.